Sunday, August 28, 2016

The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland by Rebekah Crane

 GENRE: Young Adult; Contemporary
 A life-changing summer camp awaits four teens living somewhere between disaster and diagnosis. 
In her latest novel, Rebekah Crane depicts young romance and the realities of mental illness in THE ODDS OF LOVING GROVER CLEVELAND (December 1, 2016). Amid group “share-apy” sessions and forbidden late-night outings, unlikely friendships begin to form. Zander, a 16-year-old sixteen-year-old girl who labels her fellow campers as “crazy,” quickly finds herself surrounded by unconventional and tragically real teenagers resembling a modern day Breakfast Club. There’s her cabin-mate Cassie, a camp veteran and self-described manic-depressive-bipolar-anorexic. Grover Cleveland (yes, like the president), a cute but confrontational boy who expects to be schizophrenic someday, odds being what they are. And Bek, a charmingly confounding pathological liar looking for love. 
As the Michigan summer heats up, Zander finds herself inextricably drawn to Grover’s earnest charms, and she begins to wonder if she could be happy. Before Zander learns to face her internal anxieties she must come completely unraveled to have any hope of putting herself back together again. 
Perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Jesse Andrew, THE ODDS OF LOVING GROVER CLEVELAND weaves unexpected humor with darker topics of suicide, eating disorders, and death into a journey toward self-acceptance. 

4.67 out of 5 stars
 ★ ★ ★ ☆

Rebekah Crane is the author of three young-adult novels—Playing NiceAspen, and The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland. She found a passion for young-adult literature while studying secondary English education at Ohio University. After having two kids and living and teaching in six different cities, Rebekah finally settled in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains to write novels and work on screenplays. She now spends her day carpooling kids or tucked behind a laptop at 7,500 feet, where the altitude only enhances the writing experience. 
Website |  Twitter | Facebook | 

No comments:

Post a Comment