Thursday, September 1, 2016



Oh how much I love audiobooks.  I love audiobooks.  Did I mention that I love audiobooks yet?

Basically, every waking moment of every day, I am listening to an audiobook. Ask anyone who knows me personally. 

I used to not read that much.  Now, I read A TON.  Because of audiobooks!!!!! Want to know how to read more/faster??? READ AUDIOBOOKS. 

My #1 recommended audiobook site is Audible. Audible has a super affordable monthly membership (that gives you 2 free audiobooks a month). If you aren't looking for a subscription, you can sign up here and just buy audiobooks when you wan't to listen to them without a monthly membership. (This post is not sponsored in any way, shape, or form). 

From all the audiobook platforms I've used, Audible has been by far, the best. It's the easiest player to use. Audible also has the largest selection of audiobooks to choose from AND has tons of deals and sales ALL THE TIME.

As for audiobook recommendations, I recommend these:

If you need good headphones to listen to your Audible audiobooks out, check out these:

Monday, August 29, 2016

Blue Tide by Jenna Lynn Duncan

 GENRE: Young Adult; Action; Adventure; Multi-Cultural / Diversity
An award-winning YA adventure-packed romance steeped in Middle Eastern culture and set in the Asian Pacific amongst dangerous oceans and tropical islands. 
Seventeen-year-old refugee Lux plots her escape from the island where her family is stranded, denying that her home was lost in the Floods. Lux is determined to get her old life back by any means possible. But before her feet even leave the sand, she's taken hostage by a vengeance-driven pirate nearly as young as she is.
Her capture is the key to his freedom...
Captain Draven's scarf veils more than his face. Underneath, he struggles between morality and survival. When Lux sees deeper into his motivations, she's torn. She can commit mutiny to escape to a home that may no longer exist, or she can try to help Draven escape the clutches of the person responsible for the deaths of half the world. Staying would mean entrusting her life to a pirate. Helping Draven would mean losing her heart to one.

Jenna-Lynne Duncan likes to write heart-stopping, page-turning, haunting romance in all YA genres. With a love for travel and special connection to the Middle East, she explores different cultures and different languages. Her current Young Adult releases are titled Hurricane, Tempest, Aftermath and the forthcoming Blue Tide. Jenna graduated with degrees in Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, and International Studies. BLUE TIDE was the recent winner of RWA's Romancing the Lake contest. 
Website |  Twitter | Facebook | Instagram |

Sunday, August 28, 2016

The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland by Rebekah Crane

 GENRE: Young Adult; Contemporary
 A life-changing summer camp awaits four teens living somewhere between disaster and diagnosis. 
In her latest novel, Rebekah Crane depicts young romance and the realities of mental illness in THE ODDS OF LOVING GROVER CLEVELAND (December 1, 2016). Amid group “share-apy” sessions and forbidden late-night outings, unlikely friendships begin to form. Zander, a 16-year-old sixteen-year-old girl who labels her fellow campers as “crazy,” quickly finds herself surrounded by unconventional and tragically real teenagers resembling a modern day Breakfast Club. There’s her cabin-mate Cassie, a camp veteran and self-described manic-depressive-bipolar-anorexic. Grover Cleveland (yes, like the president), a cute but confrontational boy who expects to be schizophrenic someday, odds being what they are. And Bek, a charmingly confounding pathological liar looking for love. 
As the Michigan summer heats up, Zander finds herself inextricably drawn to Grover’s earnest charms, and she begins to wonder if she could be happy. Before Zander learns to face her internal anxieties she must come completely unraveled to have any hope of putting herself back together again. 
Perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Jesse Andrew, THE ODDS OF LOVING GROVER CLEVELAND weaves unexpected humor with darker topics of suicide, eating disorders, and death into a journey toward self-acceptance. 

4.67 out of 5 stars
 ★ ★ ★ ☆

Rebekah Crane is the author of three young-adult novels—Playing NiceAspen, and The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland. She found a passion for young-adult literature while studying secondary English education at Ohio University. After having two kids and living and teaching in six different cities, Rebekah finally settled in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains to write novels and work on screenplays. She now spends her day carpooling kids or tucked behind a laptop at 7,500 feet, where the altitude only enhances the writing experience. 
Website |  Twitter | Facebook | 

A List of Cages by Robin Roe

 GENRE: Young Adult; Contemporary
When Adam Blake lands the best elective ever in his senior year, serving as an aide to the school psychologist, he thinks he's got it made. Sure, it means a lot of sitting around, which isn't easy for a guy with ADHD, but he can't complain, since he gets to spend the period texting all his friends. Then the doctor asks him to track down the troubled freshman who keeps dodging her, and Adam discovers that the boy is Julian--the foster brother he hasn't seen in five years. Adam is ecstatic to be reunited. At first, Julian seems like the boy he once knew. He's still kind hearted. He still writes stories and loves picture books meant for little kids. But as they spend more time together, Adam realizes that Julian is keeping secrets, like where he hides during the middle of the day, and what's really going on inside his house. Adam is determined to help him, but his involvement could cost both boys their lives. First-time novelist Robin Roe relied on life experience when writing this exquisite, gripping story featuring two lionhearted characters.

4.56 out of 5 stars
 ★ ★ ★ ☆

Robin Roe has a bachelor's degree from Cornell University and a master's from Harvard. She counseled adolescents in Boston before she moved to Dallas, Texas to run a mentoring program for at-risk teens. This is her first novel. 
 | Twitter | 

Threads by Ami Polonsky

 GENRE: Middle Grade
To Whom It May Concern: Please, we need help! The day twelve-year-old Clara finds a desperate note in a purse in Bellman's department store, she is still reeling from the death of her adopted sister, Lola. By that day thirteen-year-old Anming has lost hope that the note she stashed in the purse will ever be found. She may be stuck sewing in the pale pink factory outside of Beijing forever. Clara grows more and more convinced that she is supposed to rescue Anming. Lola would have wanted her to. But how can she talk her parents, who are also in mourning, into going on a trip to China? Finally the time comes when Anming weighs the options, measures the risk, and attempts a daring escape. The lives of two girls--one American, and one Chinese--intersect like two soaring kites in this story about loss, hope, and recovery.

4.29 out of 5 stars
 ★ ★ ★ ☆

Ami Polonsky is a reading and writing tutor, mother to two young children, and author, among other things. A former Language Arts teacher and literacy coach, she remains passionate about guiding children toward a love of books and helping create lifetime readers. Ami lives outside of Chicago with her family.
Website | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Pintrest | Tumblr | Amazon | 

Friday, August 26, 2016

The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon

 GENRE: Young Adult
A heartbreaking, profoundly moving glimpse of an unacknowledged life and a friendship that blossoms under the most unlikely circumstances in the tradition of A LONG WALK TO WATER and THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS. Longlisted for THE GUARDIAN Children’s Fiction Prize 2016. 
Subhi is a refugee. He was born in an Australian permanent detention center after his mother and sister fled the violence of a distant homeland, and the center is the only world he knows. But every night, the faraway whales sing to him, the birds tell him their stories, and the magical Night Sea from his mother’s stories brings him gifts. As Subhi grows, his imagination threatens to burst beyond the limits of the fences that contain him. Until one night, it seems to do just that. Subhi sees a scruffy girl on the other side of the wire mesh, a girl named Jimmie, who appears with a notebook written by the mother she lost. Unable to read it herself, Jimmie asks Subhi to unravel her family’s love songs and tragedies that are penned there.  Subhi and Jimmie might both find comfort—and maybe even freedom—as their tales unfold. But not until each has been braver than ever before and made choices that could change everything.

4.32 out of 5 stars
 ★ ★ ★ ☆

Zana Fraillon was born in Melbourne Australia, but spent her early childhood in San Francisco. Zana has written two picture books for young children, a series for middle readers, and a fictitious book for older readers based on research and recounts of survivors of the Forgotten Generation. She now lives in Melbourne, with her three sons, husband and two dogs. When Zana isn’t reading or writing, she likes to explore the museums and hidden passageways scattered across Melbourne. They provide the same excitement as that moment before opening a new book – preparing to step into the unknown where a whole world of possibilities awaits.
Twitter | Facebook | 

The Delphi Effect by Rysa Walker

 GENRE: Young Adult; Fantasy; Paranormal
Dead people DO tell tales—but only to Anna. 
 Rysa Walker, the award-winning and best-selling author of Timebound, debuts a gripping new series this fall with THE DELPHI EFFECT (October 11, 2016), the first book in The Delphi Trilogy. Revolving around Anna Morgan, a psychic teen who has the ability to speak to spirits, this eerie story thrusts readers into a world of supernaturally gifted people and a government conspiracy that endangers Anna’s life and those she loves. 
It’s never wise to talk to strangers…and that goes double when they’re dead. Unfortunately, seventeen-year-old Anna has no choice. Resting on a park bench, touching the turnstile at the Metro station—she never knows where she’ll encounter a ghost. These mental hitchhikers are the reason Anna has been tossed from one foster home and psychiatric institution to the next for most of her life. 
When a chance touch leads her to pick up the insistent spirit of a girl who was brutally murdered, Anna is pulled headlong into a deadly conspiracy that extends to the highest levels of government. Facing the forces behind her new hitcher’s death will challenge the barriers, both good and bad, that Anna has erected over the years and shed light on her power’s origins. And when the covert organization seeking to recruit her crosses the line by kidnapping her friend, it will discover just how far Anna is willing to go to bring it down. 
Perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, THE DELPHI EFFECT offers a mesmerizing and haunting read that launches just in time for the Halloween 

RYSA WALKER is the author of the bestselling CHRONOS Files series. Timebound, the first book in the series, was the Young Adult and Grand Prize winner of the 2013 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. 
Rysa grew up on a cattle ranch in the South, where she was a voracious reader. On the rare occasions when she gained control of the television, she watched Star Trek and imagined living in the future, on distant planets, or at least in a town big enough to have a stoplight. 
She currently lives in North Carolina, where she is working on the next installment in The Delphi Trilogy. If you see her on social media, please tell her to get back to her writing cave. 
Website | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Pintrest | Tumblr | Amazon |